Things This Semester Taught Me

As I have alluded to in previous posts, this past semester was one with its fair share of obstacles to overcome. But in those struggles came plenty of life lessons and personal growth that whoever reading could find useful.

The first thing this semester taught me was the importance of the sum of the five people you surround yourself with. I wrote a post about this a few days ago and it is definitely worth a read.

photo collage
Some people come into your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. Find your tribe.

The caveat to recognizing the importance of the five people was also recognizing that people come into our lives for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. This year was the perfect example of people coming and going. I often found myself in friendships that were consuming every aspect of my life, often detracting from my academics and extracurriculars. I found myself putting in exuberant amounts of effort into the relationships and getting little in return. I thought that all my friends at the time would be friends I would hold on to for the rest of my life. I envisioned them attending my wedding or my children calling them aunts and uncles.

But after a certain point, my own happiness and well being was falling by the wayside. This is when a dear friend and mentor reminded me that some people come into our lives for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. After this revelation, I started taking more time to myself and slowly cutting out the toxic people in my life. Now this is not to say that every person I was once close with was toxic, we simply outgrew our friendships or are at different stages in our lives.

The third thing this semester taught me was to not have any regrets. I have a friend who often says, “What will you remember more–staying home to study or going out on a Friday night with your friends?” She often says this to guilt trip you into a night out, and I will have to say it works. But, this year I did take more time to focus on my friendships (without sacrificing my academics) by going on day trips, spending the extra few dollars for a night out, or going to a concert. Despite all the obstacles this semester, it has been the most memorable as far as experiences with friends are concerned and for that I have no regrets.

Lastly, this semester taught me to celebrate. It taught me to celebrate the little things, the hard things, the mundane things. It taught me to be thankful and realize just how lucky I am. It taught me to celebrate those closest to me. I have been fortunate enough to have some amazing people come into my life and nothing makes me happier than seeing my friends succeed. From pulling off the greatest surprise in the history of surprises at the annual awards banquet to celebrating internships and summer positions at an ivy league, I have realized that I am one lucky girl.

Needless to say, this semester was packed full with life lessons that have helped me to grow in more ways than I could even count.

Until next time,

Lauren

One thought on “Things This Semester Taught Me

Add yours

  1. I am beyond blessed to have you in my life. I am so thankful you are here. Literally no clue what I would do without you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

