A football player, the wrong shoes, and a sore arm…

On Tuesday, June 6 I started my first day of my summer internship at Living Classrooms Foundation in Patterson Park. In the eight days since I started, I can not believe the experiences that I have already had and the people that I have met.  

The Park House finished up it’s last week of After School on Friday. After School is a safe space for the third through eighth grade students from two of the local schools to come while their parents are still at work. On Tuesday, I jumped right in a game of catch with a few of the older boys. Keep in mind that I haven’t thrown a ball since June 2015 and I thought it would be a good idea to have a contest to see who could throw the farthest. Needless to say, I am getting old and I am still feeling some tightness a week later!

On Wednesday, I went to a leadership training workshop at the UA House at Fayette, another Living Classrooms location. The UA House just opened in the fall after Under Armour became a title sponsor for the organization and it is a beautiful facility. Classrooms, Macs, a music recording studio, dance studio, and turf field sponsored by the Baltimore Ravens are just a few of the resources for our students.

As I was admiring the facility and partnership with Under Armour, I became distinctly uncomfortable when I realized that every employee there was outfitted head to toe in Under Armour apparel. I, on the other hand, was wearing brand new Nike’s. I tried to hide my shoes while sitting by tucking them behind the bag I had brought. Being the new intern, I was already self-conscious and wearing the “wrong shoes” just heightened that. I’m sure no one noticed but the situation is quite laughable.

That same day I met former professional football player turned pastor turned motivational speaker, Joe Ehrmann. Joe Ehrmann was the 10th pick in the first round of the 1973 NFL Draft out of Syracuse University to the Baltimore Colts. The old Colts training facility is now owned by my university- so I exercise where Joe Ehrmann trained during his time with the team. Meeting him and listening to his perspective on leadership was definitely a full circle experience and it is what makes me excited about this summer.

The rest of the week was spent creating a communication plan for the summer, hosting a few field days, and touring all the Living Classroom locations. There was definitely never a dull moment and I can already sense that this summer will be an amazing experience for me.

2 thoughts on “A football player, the wrong shoes, and a sore arm…

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

