A Favorite Thing…

At the crest of the E Baltimore Street hill where it intersects with Chester Street, you will find one of my favorite things in the city of Baltimore. It is not a store or a restaurant or the architecture. (Although the architecture is quite nice.) It is the VIEW!

As you drive down E Baltimore Street away from Patterson Park, you are surrounded with trees that drape magnificently over the street. Some days, depending on the time,the late afternoon sun shines through the trees at just the right angle that makes you want to drink a tall glass of ice tea and read a book under them. But once you get to Chester Street you have what I call the most beautiful ten second view in the city.

NighttimeCityHallMonochromeBlue

The way the road curves it appears as if City Hall is rising out of the foliage to be positioned in the most picture perfect photo opportunity. It is a different perspective to the skyline I have to come know and love so well.

The sun shines off the dome of City Hall most days making downtown Baltimore glow unlike anything I have ever seen. It reminds me of what John Winthrop was imagining in 1630, if his poem were set in Baltimore instead of Massachusetts Bay. JFK and Reagan would later use the poem as a vision for American leadership– “that we shall be as a city upon a hill—the eyes of all people are upon us.”

For me, downtown Baltimore is the city upon the hill when I drive down E Baltimore Street. I pinch myself because I can’t believe that a girl like me from Smalltown U.S.A. could be fulfilling a dream far from home.

Unfortunately, I am never able to snap a photo of this view…so you will just have to take my word for it.

Here’s to Baltimore and the beauty I discover in this city everyday.  

td269_1

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

