The Hopeless Romantic

If you know me, you know I am the biggest hopeless romantic. I love the idea of being in love and having a companion to go through life with. I know I definitely over romanticize love and falling in love with one’s significant other. I know for a fact that I make being in a relationship a lot easier than it is. But as someone who has never been in a serious relationship, the idea of having a guaranteed dinner date or plus one for a party or event sounds pretty appealing.

youvegotmail_featurethe rumpus.net
You’ve Got Mail with Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks

As a hopeless romantic, I love a good love story. Real or fake. So you better believe it that I can quote–verbatim– classic romantic comedies like When Harry Met Sally, You’ve Got Mail, Sleepless in Seattle, The American President, Runaway Bride, Pretty Woman, Something’s Gotta Give, White Chirstmas, An Affair to Remember…you get the idea.

whatkumquat
When Harry Met Sally featuring Meg Ryan and Billy Crystal

Obviously, I have a thing for 90’s rom com’s with Julia Roberts or Meg Ryan, but who wouldn’t want to meet Tom Hanks at the 91st Street Garden in Riverside Park after a platonic friendship to only sob hysterically because you wanted it to be him. Then, you embrace in a long awaited kiss while “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” plays in the background. Needless to say, if a potential date is reading this, you are already ahead if you have ample knowledge of these films and a playlist on hand with Jimmy Durante, Stevie Wonder, and Harry Connick Jr– standards for any Nora Ephron film.

However, as much as I love Hollywood generated love stories, I love hearing real life, honest to goodness “how we met” stories. There is something about sitting around a kitchen table late at night, eating dessert, and listening to how your parents, grandparents, friend’s parents, or aunts and uncles met and fell in love. I probably look like a wide-eyed child in a candy store when someone is telling me their ‘story.’ There is a certain nostalgia that comes along with it that makes me wonder. For example, my parents met working on a charter boat in Wildwood, N.J. in their early twenties. Will I meet my future spouse working a summer job? Not likely. Or will I meet my future spouse in the university library like my friend’s parents? Maybe. My point is finding and falling in love will always have a level of mystery and Hollywood magic about it.

Obviously, my opinions on this subject should be taken with a grain of salt considering I have been single as a pringle for all twenty years of my life. But, for the time being, I will continue to be an old-school, hopeless romantic in a hookup generation waiting for prince charming to come sweep me off my feet.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

